The Arizona Trail Race is an unofficial self-supported bikepacking race with no entry fees, no prizes, and absolutely no support.


Date: April 18, 2019

Time: 7:00 am


Cost: Free

Event Website

Organizer: Scott Morris


The Arizona Trail Race is an unofficial challenge that takes place every spring on the cross state Arizona Trail. Two distances are available. The Arizona Trail 300 is a 300 mile event that has been held every April since 2006. The Arizona Trail Race is the complete traversal (Mexico->Utah over 750+ miles) and was offered for the first time in 2010. Both events are run concurrently, starting on the same day, but in different locations and at different times.

This is not an organized or sanctioned event in any way. It’s simply a group of friends out to ride their bikes on the same route at the same time. We’ll probably compare times afterwards, but more importantly, we’ll compare experiences — the highs and lows the trail and mountains offered us.

All we provide is a route, a suggested start time(*) and tabulation of results. Period. There is no race organization, no checkpoints, no support system, nothing. You are completely on your own, just as you would be if you chose to ride the Arizona Trail, or any other trail, on any other day.

(*) Anyone is welcome to ride the route at any time. We provide a suggested start date if you want others to ride with/against. ITTs (individual time trials) are encouraged and will be ranked with that year’s results.

If you want to be included in the “results” you need to follow the rules of self-supported travel set on the rules page. This means things like support crews and water caches are not allowed. This is done in order to ensure a level playing field.

Follow along live below:

2018 Race Recap : The 2018 Arizona Trail Race was definitely one to follow along. With big names in this year’s event, there was a good chance some records would be set – and boy did they ever! Kurt Refsnider reclaimed his full AZT record with a finish time of 6 days, 6 hours, and 6 minutes – more than 6 hours faster than Neil Beltchenko’s previous record. Second place was taken by Dustin Eroh with an unofficial finish time of 7 days, 22 hours, and 53 minutes. On the 300-mile route, Neil Beltchenko took first place with a time of 1 day, 23 hours, and 13 minutes, setting the second fastest time ever recorded. Second place was taken by Kaitlyn Boyle with an unofficial finish time of 2 days, 2 hours, and 57 minutes – crushing the previous women’s record by over 10 hours. 

For route photos and other details, check out the route posting here.